Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on July 3, 2009

I don’t usually do product reviews here, in fact I have never done one at all. Also I don’t usually buy Specialized products as I find them a bit like the TESCO of the cycling world. They have one or two good bikes and then the rest is just a load of old crap, piled high and available everywhere and somehow you feel that buy buying it you are helping some strange new world order. There is also lot of it to waste your money on too. However whilst waiting for my bike to be fixed the other day my eyes were drawn to Specialized Roubaix Bartape. Featuring Specialized’s revolutionary new vibration dampening technology. The official stuff says “Now available as an aftermarket item the Roubaix tape has a suede feel and an elastomer gel backing for vibration damping performance. Suede finish provides non-slip comfort on the handlebar. More than double the elastomer thickness of competitor gel tapes.” Basically though I needed some new tape and I couldn’t be bothered to go all the way into town to buy some of my usual stuff so I thought that I would try it out. Also anyone familiar with the streets of South West London will know those boys at Roubaix have it easy compared to the potholed excuses for roads that make up my part of town. So I brought some £9.99 and took it home and put it on my bike and went straight out for my usual 30 mile loop of South West London. It is AMAZING!!! It is the first product that actually does what it says it does and does it really well. Not only that it grips well with and without gloves and has a nice quite old fashioned look to it that is free of manufacturer’s logo’s. I highly recommend it and that is something I thought I would never find myself saying and I even think that is is going to replace my usual tape and become my stock item. Not only that its available from my local bike shop that for some reason I don’t visit much and now I’m going to have an excuse to go in there and spark up a conversation with the moody mechanics and sales people. So if you want some tape to take away the constant bone shaking vibrations we all have to put up with go on out and buy some. Here’s a picture of it which doesn’t really do it the justice it deserves but it was the only one I could find on the net..

Leave a Reply

