Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on October 18, 2009

THE TWITTER WINNERS AND LOSERS OF THE YEAR AWARD.

2010. Recently I thought it would be a good idea to do a little poll on Twitter to see who was everyone’s favorite winners and losers of the 2009 cycling year. Thanks to everyone who voted I got really good response with well over 400 votes which brought up some interesting, but not really surprising results in both categories.  Because I am generally quite a lazy person Ive decided to list the top 5 in each category and then I’ll comment and include some valuable mentions as well. So with out further to do I’ll start with this years winners as voted by you the great cycling public.

WINNERS

1. Fabian Cancellara

2. Bradley Wiggins

3. Alberto Contador

4. Cadel Evans

5. Edvald Boasson Hagen

Bubbling under the vote: Mark Renshaw, Philip Deignan, Heinrich Haussler, Simon Gerrans

THE COMMENTS: Well there isn’t that much surprise here if you ask me. I believe everyone has the right to be here I just wish more people voted for my choice of Tony Martin and Nicolas Roche. However they are my winners of the year so I will create my own little post to celebrate the two. Number 1 then is Fabian Cancellara. Is there a cycling fan out there that doesn’t like Fabian I think it would be hard to find. He had a stinker of a early season which he overcame to finish on a supersonic high. Maybe that’s why he is everyone’s Number 1. Next comes Bradley Wiggins, why he’s not number 1 I don’t know but I simply don’t have to mention why he is on the list. 3rd is everyones favorite Bambi eyed spanish terror, Alberto Contador. There seemed to be a lot of vanity voting for him. 4th is a little surprise seeing as everyone constantly knocks him but now everyone loves him. My feelings are that I have always found Cadel Evans a bit of an awkward character to like but I have always admired the fact that he just simply doesn’t give up and rides as clean as a whistle. Therefore in my book well done Cadel I hope your year as World Champion brings you the respect you deserve and the wins you constantly strive for. 5th is the baby faced assassin from Norway, Edvald Boasson Hagen. I personally reckon this kid is going to become a massive champion and I’m happy to be around to see him on his way.

LOSERS

1. Alexandre Vinokourov

2. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte

3. Danilo Di Luca

4. Mark Cavendish

5. Mikel Astarloza

Bubbling under the vote: Lance Armstrong & Johan Bruyneel


THE COMMENTS: What a surprise VINO the VILLIAN wins literally hands down on the losers of the year category. What I find amazing though is that the seven names on this list were the only names that people voted for. I am really surprised that Mark Cavendish is featured on this list. In fact he only received two votes in the winners category. Maybe everyone is fed up with the crybaby showoff tactics he seems to constantly use and it was interesting to see that there were nearly enough votes to put his right hand man Mark Renshaw into 5th place in the winners category. As for the others I don’t really care. They all deserve to be booted out of the sport, its interesting to see that they are all dopers apart from Cavendish. Im slightly upset that the tool that is Armstrong didn’t make it to the list everyone knows my hatred for this idiot. However I think he doesn’t need anymore publicity from me as his behaviour during this years TdF perfectly illustrates what a vile corrupt sportsman he is. If there are still people who believe in this guy after seeing his performance during this years tour then I feel sorry for you.

Leave a Reply

