Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

My Favorite Cyclists for 2010…. No.1 Damiano Cunego

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on January 23, 2010

This is a new feature where each day i’ll post a brief introduction and article on my favorite riders for the 2010 season. It’s not a top 10 or anything and they are in no order its rather a list of who I’m hoping will do well this season and who I think wil be riding great this year, be it in the classics or in the grand tours. Number 1 in the list is Damiano Cunego. I’ve listed him first as every year he takes so much flack for not being a GC contender and for not focusing on the classic. I say, so what, he is a great rider and I always like watching him. Late last year I was hoping he would sign for Team Sky as I think on a great team like that he would perform miracles. However he has stayed at LAMPRE so I have to remain to give him all my support whilst he rides in the Blue and Pink colours.

Damiano Cunego (born September 19, 1981 in Cerro Veronese, Veneto) is an Italian professional road racing cyclist who rides for the Italian UCI ProTeam Lampre-Farnese Vini. His biggest wins are the 2004 Giro d’Italia, the 2008 Amstel Gold Race, and the Giro di Lombardia in 2004, 2007, 2008. He finished second in the UCI Road World Championships in 2008 and in the 2008 UCI ProTour. Primarily a climber, he has improved his Time-Trialing and he is characterized by a great sprinting ability, unusual for a climber. He is considered the best Italian cyclist for classics, after Paolo Bettini‘s withdrawal.

Let me know what you think of my suggestions and riders in the comments section below or find me on twitter…

 

Leave a Reply

