Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

My favorite cyclists of the year…. No.3 Ivan Basso

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on January 27, 2010

Ivan Basso (born 26 November 1977) is an Italian professional cyclist who is currently racing with Italian UCI pro tour team Liquigas. He is a winner of the Giro d’Italia, having won the 2006 edition whilst riding for Team CSC. However, in 2007 Basso admitted he was planning to use doping products and was suspended for two years. His suspension ended on October 24, 2008 and he returned to racing with Liquigas in 2009. I’ve said it here on La Gazzetta Della Bici that I think Basso will win this years GIRO so you’ve heard it here first. Many have asked me how I can back a convicted doper when I have such a strong anti doping stance. My answer is this; Basso made a mistake, he admitted it and has paid the consequences and has faced up to the criticism this kind of mistake brings a lot more honestly and with strength than a lot of other people in the same situation. Strength and positivity lives within forgiveness and understanding. I don’t want a man who has made a mistake to have his life ruined by it. He isn’t a bad man and I honest believe he isn’t out to cheat anyone. Some people won’t understand this choice but what can I do about it. I believe in him and he is getting my full support this season. I hope he can get over his demons and ride a good strong season this year. I think we saw signs of his strength in the 2009 season and if Liquigas can sort their “leadership” problems out there will be no stopping him. I think he can do it if he can just quieten his mind and focus on the racing instead of the rumours and criticism he attracts, FORZA IVAN.


Leave a Reply

