Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

My favorite riders for 2010…. No. 6 Michael Barry

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on February 4, 2010

The next 4 riders in this series are going to be a list of my all time favorite riders and not just ones to look out for this season. These 4 are going to have great seasons because they are all great riders and great riders only have great seasons in my book. The first one is Michael Barry. When I was first seriously ill about 3 years ago and not in anyway the fan of cycling I am now I picked up Michael’s book on his time with the US Postal Team whilst out shopping for something else. It was my first cycling biography/book and from that moment on I became obsessed with cycling and a massive fan of Michael Barry. I recommend anyone read this book. He is a proper bike rider’s PRO bike rider. The kind of cyclist I would want to be if someone offered me the chance to be 13 all over again and asked what I would like to do with my life. He is the kind of rider that gets on with shit and that in my world makes him more of a star than any of the STAR GRABBERS out there. I was luckily enough to meet him at the launch of his new TEAM SKY and have had the opportunity to speak to him through this blog and both these occasions have had my options confirmed that he is a true Il Campionissimo and one of my all time favorite riders. Forza Michael


Here is some copy I’ve nicked off SKY’s website.

Michael Barry is one of the most experienced – and one of the most interesting – riders in the peloton. He has ridden for some of the world’s biggest teams, including US Postal and T-Mobile, but he says that joining Team Sky has re-ignited his enthusiasm, and left him feeling like a neo-pro again.

“It’s really interesting, and completely different from any other team I’ve ridden in,” says Barry. “The approach, the structure – it’s all different.” It was the “philosophy” behind the team, as much as the opportunities he will have, that persuaded Barry to sign. But he brings strength as well as experience, and he is also capable of contributing victories. “I don’t know if there’s a ‘captain’, but I’m one of the veteran riders, and acting as captain on the road was something I enjoyed doing with my previous team,” he says. “It’s nice to see younger guys progress, and be able to contribute a bit to that.

“The last couple of years I’ve often worked as a domestique, and I’ll have a similar role at Sky. I’m a type of rider they can count on in all terrain. But in hillier, harder one-day races I can do alright for myself, too.” Quite apart from his team role, and his occasional shots at personal glory, there was something else about Team Sky that appealed to Barry, who is also an accomplished writer, having authored a book, Inside the Postal Bus, in 2005. “As pro bike riders we motivate people to ride bikes by what we do,” he explains, “but this team is going to have a direct involvement in the community.

“That connection between pro teams and riding for fun is very rarely made, but there’s going to be a direct correlation with getting more people riding bikes. I really like that idea.”

Previous teams: 1999-2001, Saturn Cycling Team; 2002-06, US Postal/Discovery Channel; 2007-09, T-Mobile/Columbia
Strengths: All-rounder/Domestique
Career highlights pre 2010: 7th 2003 world road race championship; 1st stage one team time trial, 2004 Vuelta a Espana; 1st stage one 2005 Osterreich-Rundfahrt; 3rd overall 2007 Sachsen Tour; 1st stage four 2008 Tour of Missouri; 1st stage one team time trial, 2009 Giro d’Italia; 1st stage three team time trial, Tour de Romandie
2010 results: 39th, GP Cycliste la Marseillaise.
Upcoming schedule: Etoile de Bessèges 3-7 February, Tour du Haut Var 20-21 February, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 27 February, Kuurne-Bruxelles-Kuurne 28 February.
Click here for Michael’s blog on Velonews
 

Leave a Reply

