Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

The things dreams are made of….. Fausto COPPI at Herne Hill footage

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on February 7, 2010

This morning I got an email from a guy called Steve McColl letting me in on a lovely piece of footage of Fausto Coppi riding at Herne Hill Velodrome. It was posted on the lfgss forum by a guy called Gerald who says: A few years ago by chance at a flea market I stumbled across an old super 8 reel of film in a clear plastic case in amongst some unrelated to cycling objects. hand written on a ripped piece of card inside were the names Fausto Coppi, Tom Simpson and Jacques Anquetil. if I had not seen these names I would have left the reel as I don’t often buy random reels. the film clips were presumably both made in 1959, one on the continent and the other at herne hill velodrome vc sacchi meeting.
This clip shows Fausto Coppi on a introduction lap of honour. It is my belief that there cannot be too any copies of this event. an lfgss world exclusive then. If you see this clip or images from it anywhere you know where it was stolen from.

Here is the link to Gerald’s post where you can find further links to the videos. Thanks so much to Steve for letting me in on this great footage its right up my street.

Leave a Reply

