Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

Dopers & The Witch Hunters

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on February 15, 2010

I don’t really ever speak about doping on La Gazzetta Della Bici. Anyone who knows me personally will know my opinion on the riders who cheat to win races. Gazzetta is about the beauty in cycling I try to keep negativity away from these pages. Sometimes however I need to say things just to clear my mind and luckily I have a blog in which to do so. Dopers dope for many reasons, the history of the sport is filled with dope. Most of my all time heroes took drugs, I would be a hypocrite to blindly promote a drug free sport and expect every rider to be clean. I hope for the future of the sport that young riders can find a way to compete without the need for drugs and I hope the teams, sponsor, management and gurus who put pressure on these young riders to dope also take a real look at themselves and accept their part in this tragedy as well. However what I equally find disgusting is the WITCH HUNT mentality that exists with cycling for those that dope and the treatment they receive when caught. We don’t live in medieval times anymore. Drug users abuse drugs for far too many complicated reasons then just wanting to cheat. Not every doped rider is the same not every doping case within cycling is the same. I wish the media, fans and so called lovers of the sport would also take a look at themselves and their reaction to doping cases and realise their negativity, their comments and their criticisms are also bringing to this beautiful sport down into the gutter.

Leave a Reply

