Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

The family photographs of Luigia Zilli of her father Marcello Zilli racing as a young man.

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on February 21, 2010

It has been an absolute amazing honour meeting Luigia recently, not only has she helped me so much with Italian cycling history and information but she is always helping me with contacts and advise and now she has let me share these great photographs of her father Marcello Zilli. As you might know I’m obsessed with old photographs and the memories they bring to the surface especially if they are related to cycling. This personal set of family photographs are wonderful and show the passion Italians have for cycling. Thanks Luigia. Please check out Luigia’s beautiful paintings at her site here.

The captions for the photographs are as follows top to bottom:
My handsome daddy, Marcello Zilli, when he used to be a cyclist in the 50s.

My dad racing with V.C. Afragolesi, Afragola.
My dad racing. As you can see in those days the roads were not paved, gravel and dust and big potholes.
My dad became the Campania regional Allievi champion in 1953, in this pictures with his best friend and coach. He was 18 years old.
Racing on tiled ground.
Breakaway: “vai papa`!”
All the pack is scattered, my dad is chasing in second place, with the white jersey.

Leave a Reply

