Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

Introducing, Fabio Close, Sub 7 Bikes RacingTeam Member

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on March 3, 2010

This is a new feature to La Gazzetta Della Bici. Fabio is a good close friend of mine and a new rider with the Sub 7 Cycling Team. At only 13 this kid is making waves already and my recent trip to Manchester to watch him train at the Velodrome re-asserted my believe that I am lucky enough to be part of this kids life and lucky enough to be a friend of a future GRAND TOUR winner and WORLD CHAMPION. I’ve never seen anyone young or old ride a bike with such dedication or believe and he is not only naturally talented but is also the most inspiring and motivating person for me as a cyclist. Fabio flies, if on the track or with me or out on the roads of Bolton, Fabio makes cycling look like something he was born to do. He has an great family behind him who are quite simply among the most amazing people I have ever had the privilege to know, which for a harsh sport like cycling is something he is going to need for his mental strength and stability.

Throughout the following season I will be writing about Fabio’s progress here on La Gazzetta Della Bici and keeping everyone informed on his progress and race results. So in 10 years time when you see him on the top step of a GRAND TOUR podium you can say I heard about that kid when he first started out. Here is a little information about Fabio.

Name: Fabio Close
Date of birth: 23-9-96
Home Town: Bolton
Occupation: Schoolboy

Cycling 2010 aims: Win the Isle of Man Youth Tour (podium minimum), Manchester District GHS 10m TT, National GHS 10m TT, National Youth Circuit Series (podium)

Why should people sign up and join the http://www.sub7bikes.co.uk Racing Team?
The advice and training plan that I have been given this year has been really good and useful.

What training have you been up to?
My training consists of racing at the Velodrome in Manchester on a Monday and training there on a Wednesday. Thursday is interval training on the turbo which is hard but rewarding. On Friday I do an easy ride for an hour on either the rollers or turbo. Saturday is the hardest training day where we do 25-30 miles of hard through and off work, and finally on Sunday we do a 16 mile course that is mainly hills.

What are you most looking forward to about riding for www.sub7bikes.co.uk Racing Team? www.sub7bikes.co.uk Racing Team is my first team so I’m looking forward to being part of a team instead of riding as an individual. If I get the chance to get to ride with other members of the team during the season that will be good.

If you could meet any top professional cyclist who would it be?
I have already ridden with Brad Wiggins, he is my hero. I would love to ride with Mark Cavendish as I admire what he has achieved and the way that he has achieved his wins.

Three words to describe yourself?
Dedicated, Motivated and Intelligent

The Sub 7 Racing Team can be found here at http://www.sub7bikes.blogspot.com/ and Sub 7 have a website which can be found here http://www.sub7bikes.co.uk/default.asp. Also you can follow Fabio’s progress on twitter here @fabioclose1996

Leave a Reply

