Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

Tom Ritchey, Jobst Brandt and American Cycling History

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on May 27, 2010

I love it when people recommend things to me. I’m always up for learning new things and checking new things out. So I was super pleased when I got an email today from Paul Whitfield at C3 PRODUCTS. I know there is going to be something special when Paul emails me, it’s usually either some top free stuff or some super secret bit of cycling info or history. This time it was the later. Here is Paul.


Simon,
I know you love bikes, riding and all the good stuff. Here are two names that have been incredibly influential in roads and rides that I’ve done over the last decade. Tom Ritchey and Jobst Brandt – both legends for so many reasons. Check out
www.trentobike.org look for Jobst Brandt under authors. Incredible photos…. Its not Euro but some of the riding that Tom Ritchey and Jobst Brandt did in the 80’s is pretty damn cool – all around Bay Area in California. some cool photos on www.siliconvalleycyclist.com check out the slide shows.

Paul.

On a personal note I love this stuff. In fact it is the kind of thing to move me to tears. Please go and check out the two websites above I have spent all afternoon on them. Anyone who reads this blog knows I love cycling photography but the other sections on these websites are amazing too. Also when it looks like American Cycling is about to explode because of the Landis revelations its time to remember that it has a history that is much deeper and more important than anything Lance Armstrong achieved.

Here are some photos from the www.siliconvalleycyclist.com Thanks Paul you are a star you know I love this kind of thing thanks so much….

Leave a Reply

