Lagazzettadellabici's Blog

Some friends in need in Italy can anyone help

Posted in Uncategorized by lagazzettadellabici on June 8, 2010

I have a couple of friends in Italy at the moment who are in a spot of bother after a crash. Can anyone help them out fixing up one of their bikes. Amanda bike is trashed and they need a good workshop in the Florence area to get it back together. I don’t know any but thought I might post something here to see if anyone does. They can be contacted through Amanda’s blog which has a link at the end of this article. Please click the link to visit her blog and find out where they are and what happened.

CRASH by Amanda Adams

It was my best ride yet.

Ged and I drove to Rimini on the east coast of Italy on Friday morning for some riding and camping by the sea. That afternoon, we headed out on our bikes up into the mountains until reaching San Marino. The climbs were beautiful—miles of lush valleys, the bluest of skies.  I was pushing myself and feeling great; I didn’t even downshift to the small chainring. We rode about 45 km before deciding to turn around.  The downhill rush was incredible. I felt like one those Olympic bobsleds just blazing down the pavement without effort. My body leaned and bent with every twist and turn as if it were the most natural thing in the world. And when the descent was just about finished, it happened: I miscalculated the sharpness of a turn and crashed into a guardrail. Hard. At first, I didn’t realize how serious the damage was. I was laughing because of how stupid the mistake was, but when I looked down at my bike I wasn’t laughing anymore. I severed my carbon fork, bent my wheel irreparably and scratched up my handlebars. And in that moment, I cried. I didn’t care about the blood streaming down my arms or legs as I bent over the guardrail. I was in more pain looking at the dismemberment of my week-old Bianchi. 

Please click the link http://amandaonfoot.blogspot.com/2010/06/crash.html to read the fully story and if you think you might be able to help getting the Bianchi and Amanda back on the road.

Leave a Reply

